LONE GOAT GALLERY

NIKON SURF PHOTO OF THE YEAR AWARD 2017

Chris Gurney, Mark Onorati, Ray Collins, Hayden Richards Leroy Bellet, Andrew Chisholm, Stu Gibson, Luke Shadbolt Peter Joli Wilson, Russell Ord, Christopher Peel, Ray Collins

FEBRUARY 23 UNTIL MARCH 1 2019 28 Lawson St, Byron Bay NSW 2481

The Byron Bay Surf Festival in association with Nikon presents the top 20 finalists for the 2017 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year, at Lone Goat Gallery.

The Nikon Surf Photo of the Year and Nikon Surf Video of the Year awards showcases the finest work taken by Australia's best surf photographers and filmmakers during the past 12 months.

The prestigious award recognises the best single surfing-themed image taken during 2016 by an Australian photographer, with strict criteria including dramatic effect, sensory impact, composition, innovation and creativity.

The photo can be taken anywhere around the world and can be drawn from action, water, lifestyle, line up or portrait photography.

This year presented some outstanding entries featuring the best-of-the-best in Australian surfing photography.

Congratulations to Luke Shadbolt winner of the 2017 Nikon Surf Photo of the Year award for his photo 'Maelstrom 1'. "Shot during the volatile El Nino season of 2016, Maelstrom 1 offers a cursory glimpse of the exchange, cycle and balance of power fundamental to the functioning of our planet and its oceans." LONE GOAT GALLERY